Croatian is the official language of the Republic of Croatia and is a Slavic language. It is related to and mutually intelligible with Serbian, Montenegrin and Bosnian, but for political and historical reasons, they are each referred to as separate languages. Croatian is only written with a latin script, while Serbian, Montenegrin and Bosnian all use a Cyrillic script in addition to a latin version. Following World War II a large number of 'Yugoslav-born' displaced persons settled in Australia, including ethnic Croatians. Migration increased over the next two decades with the largest wave of Croatian migration to Australia occurring in 1970. A large number of community language schools continue to provide out-of-hours language classes to the community. Croatian is currently taught in one Australian university.

Number of people in Australia who speak this language at home: 61,545 (ABS Census Data, 2011)

Language Category: European Languages

Choose another Language